Possibly useful analysis of Sample tests

Last week I started collecting data from schools who had used the KS1/2 sample tests. I have been overwhelmed by the response, with the data for over 5000 pupils now available.

I’ve tried to draw some very simple conclusions on my blogpost here, but really what teachers want is to be able to compare their school to the national picture. Enter, Tarjinder Gill, who has put some considerable effort into turning the available data into something useful for schools to do exactly that.

Accessing the spreadsheets below will allow you to enter your own school’s data. Once you do, you can see how your scores compare to the collected data from the schools who have so willingly shared their results. You can also see simple graphs that compare your scores both at mark-level and in bands, so that you might spot patterns.

readinggraph

Made-up data, I’m afraid, just to illustrate the graph option.

The school shown in the example here seems to be significant under-performing compared to the national picture indicated by my very dodgy collection of data.

Please be aware of all the usual caveats: this isn’t a reliable set of data, it isn’t a random sample, it hasn’t been checked for accuracy, it isn’t from a cross-section of schools, etc., etc. It’s just all we have at the moment, I’m afraid.

To access the spreadsheets, you can find them here on Google:

Key Stage 1 data comparison spreadsheet (NB: very limited national data so far)

Key Stage 2 data comparison spreadsheet

You will not be able to edit these versions. To enter your own data, users with their own Google account can make a copy of the spreadsheets. If you  do not have a Google account at all, then it is possible to download the spreadsheets, and then use them in Excel. However, these versions will only include a comparison to the data collected up to the point at which you downloaded the sheet.

If you find these sheets useful, and you haven’t already shared your school’s data with me to add to the “accuracy” of the project, please read here about how you can contribute.

Also, please thank Tarjinder Gill, as the work on these spreadsheets is all hers!

 

Tagged: , , ,

12 thoughts on “Possibly useful analysis of Sample tests

  1. cazzypot2013 5 March 2016 at 7:13 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on The Echo Chamber.

  2. Caseby's Casebook 6 March 2016 at 5:11 pm Reply

    Thanks for this, and to Tarjinder, I’m sure this will develop into a really helpful tool. I’ll alert our primary team to it.

  3. julietgreen 6 March 2016 at 6:36 pm Reply

    Many thanks to both you and Tarjinder for an invaluable service which is so much more useful than anything the DfE have come up with, ever.

  4. Abigail Greig 7 March 2016 at 2:37 pm Reply

    This looks like a very handy resource – thank you to all responsible. Does anyone know how to change the language of the resource back to English? When I made a copy as instructed, all the tabs changed to Spanish!

  5. Tom 9 March 2016 at 11:00 am Reply

    Please. I need some advice.

    The moderators in our local authority have recommended that schools use a ticklist such as the one at the back of the exemplification materials. Clearly this goes against the government advice to schools.

    What should I do?

    • Michael Tidd 9 March 2016 at 11:22 am Reply

      I’m afraid I think that the DfE’s advice is naive.
      That said, I would await further comment from the NAHT to see their view.

      • Tom Bishop 9 March 2016 at 12:48 pm Reply

        I’ve contacted them.

  6. Jo H 10 March 2016 at 10:47 am Reply

    I wish we could do something similar for the writing! I’m feeling completely lost/confused now as the latest guidance seems to be blatantly self-contradictory. I’ve highlighted all the statements we have to evidence on the old APP grid and they clearly represent a 5c if not a 5b but the govt are still insisting that it’s a 4b! I just can’t see how I can evidence all those things from a 4b writer! Any ideas?

    • Michael Tidd 10 March 2016 at 10:48 am Reply

      My intention is to put something out about that shortly…

  7. bpootle3 22 March 2016 at 8:50 pm Reply

    Thank you both for all the hard work producing this useful data comparisons. I don’t like to point out, but there is a little error in the sheet KS1 Maths for the school level % data, in the 41-50 and 51 -60 bands, where the formula hasn’t copied down the column. Only noticed because the % didn’t sum to 100%. Didn’t know whether I should edit the original, felt like trespassing. Think there is also an error on ks2 maths school level data 41-50 band. Sorry, I can edit it on the original if that is OK with you. Sorry, thanks

    • Michael Tidd 22 March 2016 at 8:58 pm Reply

      Thank you for highlighting this. I think the KS1 Maths error has already been corrected, although perhaps after you’d made your own copy of the sheet. You can happily edit your own copy, as it won’t affect the original anyway.
      I have now also made the correction to the KS2 sheet – thank you again.

Leave a Reply

