Fancy Quizzing the DfE?

I have to admit, I was slightly surprised. When Optimus Education asked me to lead a session interviewing a representative from the department; I did wonder if they might find themselves unavailable on the proposed date. It was perhaps a little unfair of me, as the staff at the STA have actually done a fair deal to make themselves available over the past year or so, and this event provides a great opportunity to access the experts.

And so it is, that on Wednesday 25th May I’ll be interviewing the Head of Assessment Policy, Catherine Wreyford, at the Primary Assessment and Data Use conference in London. Naturally, I could happily fill the time with plenty of questions of my own, but the main aim is to allow delegates to send their questions in for me to put to Catherine.

Of course, by then, all the fun and excitement of this year’s tests will be over, so what questions could we possibly have? Well, I wouldn’t wonder if there weren’t quite a few. Some initial topics spring to mind…

  • Teacher Assessment (that won’t be completed until June 30th)
  • Challenges of reporting to parents
  • The prospect of Raise Online
  • Plans for assessment in 2017

And who knows what questions we might have about the tests that have just happened themselves?

More details about the event can be found at www.oeconferences.com/Primaryassessment
and a discount of 20% is available for my followers by quoting code MT20 when booking.

Delegates attending will have the opportunity to email questions to be asked – and I’ll do my best to get some answers!

Pri assess banner

5 thoughts on “Fancy Quizzing the DfE?

  1. cazzypot2013 21 March 2016 at 8:48 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on The Echo Chamber.

  2. Jo 22 March 2016 at 6:26 pm Reply

    What lessons from this year’s mess are they trying to learn for next year’s non-interim writing assessment framework?

  3. Claire 24 March 2016 at 9:50 am Reply

    Why did you remove the higher standard paper? Having it all combined has the dual negative effect of demoralising those who can’t answer a chunk of the questions and demotivating those who would previously have aimed for a Level 6.

  4. Mal 6 May 2016 at 6:01 pm Reply

    ‘Have you really convinced yourselves that you know what you’re doing?’ If the answer is yes, I suggest we run for the hills.

  5. Jo H 18 May 2016 at 8:41 am Reply

    Question I accidentally left off my delegate questionnaire for next week’s conference: do you think it is appropriate to pose questions in the Maths SATs which rely on vocabulary mentioned only in the non statutory notes portion of the curriculum? (The one I’m referring to is the one about diagonals). Thanks! Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

