Am I overstretching it…?

What are people’s thoughts?

Everyone  wants to know about progress measures, but we won’t have the national data until September. We can’t work it out in advance… but is it worth trying to estimate?

I collected data on Tuesday night about the SATs results, and my sample was within 1 percentage point of the final national figures, which wasn’t bad. However, this would be a much more significant project.

To get anything close to an estimate of national progress measures, we would need a substantial number of schools to share their school’s data at pupil level. It would mean schools sharing their KS1 and scaled score results for every pupil – anonymised of course, but detailed school data all the same.

My thinking at this stage is that I’d initially only share any findings with the schools that were able to contribute. It would be a small sample, but it might give us a very rough idea. Very rough.

Would it be useful… and do people think they would be able to contribute?

11 thoughts on “Am I overstretching it…?

  1. Kate Cameron 6 July 2016 at 9:00 pm Reply

    I think it would take you (and us) a lot of time and would not really replicate the national picture. The results are a shambles and floor targets are going to have be seriously rethunk. Personally, I think we should just be patient and take even the final national results with a mountain of salt as they do not reflect how well our pupils have done.😦

  2. 7 Pixies 6 July 2016 at 9:02 pm Reply

    If be surprised if you didn’t have many, many requests for being included in that sample. I’d be in.

  3. Richard 6 July 2016 at 9:04 pm Reply

    I’m game.

  4. Yes please!

  5. Adrienne Amos 6 July 2016 at 9:12 pm Reply

    I think that sounds really useful. Information gleaned at this point would be far more beneficial than in September…. or December, if they play true to form. By then, it is just so ‘last year’!

  6. Rachel Miller 6 July 2016 at 9:27 pm Reply

    I’m in

  7. Hannah 6 July 2016 at 9:37 pm Reply

    I’m interested.

  8. misterbishop 6 July 2016 at 9:43 pm Reply

    What’s the point? Asked genuinely.

    If it’s just to be smart and ahead of the game then there is no point and it’s actually a waste of precious time that could be focused on more beneficial things.

    If you’re going to use the data to inform school improvement/development plans then how can that be done with any degree of certainty?

    If your school concern is that you’re on the edge of being swallowed up and spat out by Ofsted or the DfE then spending time finding out that you *may* or *may not* be in more difficulty than you hoped also isn’t very useful – it’ll just cause more anxiety and take up precious time.

    I can’t think of a good reason but perhaps I’m missing the point.

    So again, I ask genuinely, what is the point?

  9. Badabing 6 July 2016 at 10:06 pm Reply

    Let’s just have a pint and stop worrying about it

  10. Ruth Burgess 7 July 2016 at 7:31 am Reply

    I’d do it

  11. Shelagh Coutts 7 July 2016 at 7:19 pm Reply

    I would be happy to do it.

Leave a Reply

